Guidelines for the ILAS Olga Taussky and John Todd Prize

The ILAS Olga Taussky and John Todd Prize was established by the Board of Directors in 2021. The prize is named for Olga Taussky and John Todd, who had a decisive impact on the development of theoretical and numerical linear algebra for over half a century. This prize honors them for their many and varied mathematical achievements and for their efforts in promoting linear algebra and matrix theory. The ILAS Olga Taussky and John Todd Prize replaces the Taussky-Todd lecture, which was instituted at the 3rd ILAS meeting held at the University of West Florida in Pensacola, Florida, March 17–20, 1993.

Award date and period

The ILAS Olga Taussky and John Todd Prize is awarded every three years at an appropriate ILAS conference, as decided upon by the ILAS Executive Board.


The prize is awarded to a person who has received the Ph. D. degree within about fifteen years of receiving the prize, and who has made significant contributions to linear algebra and matrix theory.


The president shall appoint a committee consisting of at least four ILAS members to recommend a prize winner to the ILAS Executive Board.

Notification of award

The ILAS President shall notify the recipient of the Prize at least four months in advance of the award date. An invitation shall also be extended to the recipient to attend the award ceremony to receive the Prize and to present a principal lecture.

The prize presentation

The ILAS President shall announce the Prize at the chosen conference and present the Prize to the recipient. An announcement of the Prize recipient shall appear in ILAS’ media.

Description of the prize

The Prize consists of a certificate containing the citation. The awardee will be invited to give a principal lecture at an ILAS Conference, with all reasonable expenses to attend the meeting covered by ILAS.

The prize fund

The ILAS Olga Taussky and John Todd Prize Fund is used to support the travel expenses of the awardee.